News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/19/2022 6:48:00 PM to 8/1/2022 12:00:06 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: January 24, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Spoonhower and Sharpe to lead the Goochland County Board of Supervisors in 2022

Goochland County -Spoonhower and Sharpe to lead Board of Supervisors in 2022

Mr. Spoonhower and Mr. Sharpe are serving as the Board’s Chair and Vice-Chair for the first time.  Both were elected in 2019 and are serving their first term as supervisor.  Mr. Spoonhower succeeds District 3 Supervisor John Lumpkins, Jr. in the position and Mr. Sharpe succeeds District 5 Supervisor Ken Peterson.

“I just really want to thank everyone, I am absolutely humbled and very appreciative of this opportunity to serve alongside new Vice Chair Don Sharpe and my other colleagues in this capacity,” said Chair Neil Spoonhower. “By far the last two years have been the most rewarding in my career.  This is probably the best role I’ve ever had, and I am very excited for the year.  I want to thank Mr. Lumpkins not just for his leadership but also for his levity during some challenging times.  We have a really busy year in front us and I have the confidence this Board is going to continue to do the right thing for our citizens.”   

The Board of Supervisors also approved their 2022 meeting schedule during the meeting on Wednesday, a copy of the schedule is available at

Goochland’s Board of Supervisors regularly meets at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month, the third Tuesday of each month serves as a Reserved Date for meetings.   Additional budget and redistricting related meetings and public hearings are scheduled in the months of February through April.  

Meetings are held in the Goochland County Administration Building Board Meeting Room (Room 250), 1800 Sandy Hook Road unless otherwise noted and noticed.  For more information, call (804) 556-5811 or go to


Neil Spoonhower, District 2 Supervisor and 2022 Chair of the Goochland County Board of Supervisors

Don Sharpe - 2021

Don Sharpe, District 4 Supervisor and 2022 Vice-Chair of the Goochland County Board of Supervisors.

Facebook Twitter Email